The Indian hockey team is gearing up for a month-long camp in Bengaluru in preparation for the CWG

Veteran Indian hockey players like goalkeeper PR Sreejesh, Krishna Pathak, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar and Amit Rohidas are among the 31 players in the Commonwealth Games camp, which started on Monday and will end on July 23 when the team leaves for Birmingham. For quarterly showpieces.

After their impressive outing in Europe where the men’s team lived up to the billing against Belgium and the Netherlands in thrilling FIH Pro League double-headers, the team will have a nearly four-week national camp. Sports Power of India Center in Bengaluru, where they will do the final fine-tuning for the mega event.

Qosanov Memorial Athletics Meet: Dhanalakshmi Sekar Clocks Personal Best to Win 200m as Dutee Chand Comes Third

India, led by Manpreet Singh, will begin their campaign against Ghana on July 31. Placed in Group B in Pool B, India will also face hosts England, Canada and Wales in round-robin league matches.

Talking about the camp, head coach Graham Reed said, “The players got a short break of six days to spend time with their families after FIH Pro League matches in Europe. I believe this break has helped the players feel refreshed mentally and physically.

“Over the next three weeks, we are going to focus on improving our performance in the FIH Pro League where we have the opportunity to play against the best teams in the world. I have identified some areas on which we can do better and stay consistent. This is something we will be working on here in Bengaluru next week. The Commonwealth Games is a mega event in which world ranking points are at stake so definitely, we will strive for a good performance in Birmingham, ”Reed added.

Will Compete with Myself at CWG and Strive to Better My World Record: Mirabai Chanu

List of Campers: PR Sreejesh, Pawan, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, Varun Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Jugraj Singh, Germanpreet Singh, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Shamsher Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Akashdeep Singh, Neelkanth Sharma, Guerd , Dilpreet Singh, Sukhjit Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Abhishek, Gursahibjit Singh, Mandeep Mor, Sanjay, Mohammad Raheel Mausin, Sumit, Moirangthem Rabichandra Singh, Gurinder Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Ashish Kumar Topno, Krishnan B

Read all Know the latest , Breaking News The clock Top videos And Live TV Here


Source link

Leave a Comment