Neeraj Chopra, Avinash Sable, Hima Das and Duti Chand headline India’s athletics team for CWG 2022

Federation of Athletics India (AFI) announces India’s 37-member squad for the 2022 Commonwealth Games to be held in Birmingham from July 28 to August 8.

AFI President Adil Sumariwala expressed confidence that the team would perform well.

The squad includes three men in Neeraj Chopra, DP Manu and Rohit Yadav, javelin throwers and three triple jumpers in Abdullah Abubaker, Praveen Chitravel and Aldhos Paul.

“We are urging the Indian Olympic Association to increase our quota by one and help some athletes gain recognition. We have also chosen some subjects to prove their fitness and form before the games, ”said Sumariwala.

“Shot putter Tajinderpal Singh Toure will have to perform well in Kazakhstan while Amoj Jacob has been selected subject to his recovery and fitness level,” the AFI president said.

Similarly, discus throwers Navjeet Kaur Dhillon and Seema Antil Poonia as well as hammer thrower Sarita Singh will have to perform in Kazakhstan or California. The race walker has to prove his fitness for the spirit.

Sumariwala also said that Avinash Sable, Neeraj Chopra and Seema Antil Poonia, who are training abroad, demanded to be present at the National Inter-State Athletics Championships in Chennai and were released.

This is the full Indian athletics team for the 2022 Birmingham Commonwealth Games –

100th – Dhanalakshmi
100m Hurdles – Jyoti Yaraji
Shot put – Manpreet Kaur
Discus Throw – Navjeet Kaur, Seema Poonia
Javelin throw – Annu Rani, Shilpa Rani
Hammer Throw – Manju Bala Devi, Sarita R Singh
Long jump – Aishwarya B, Ansi Sojan
Triple Jump – Aishwarya b
10 km walk – Bhavana Jat, Priyanka Goswami
4x100m relay – Dhanalakshmi, Hima Das, Duti Chand, Shrabani Nanda, Jill’s MV, Simi N.S.

3000 m steeplechase – Avinash Sable
Marathon – Nitendra Rawat
Shot put- Tejender Singh Toor
Javelin throw – Neeraj Chopra, Manu DP, Rohit Yadav
Long jump – Sreesankar, Mohammad Anees
Triple Jump – Abdullah Abubekar, Praveen Chitravel, Aldhos Paul
10 km walk – Sandeep Kumar, Amit
4x400m relay- Amoj Jacob, Noah Nirmal Tom, Arokia Rajiv, Mohammad Ajmal, Nagnathan Pandi, Rajesh Ramesh

(With inputs from agencies)

Read all Fresh news , Breaking news The clock Top videos And Live TV Here


Source link

Leave a Comment