Gurinder Singh to lead Indian men’s hockey 5s tournament at Lausanne

Gurinder Singh will lead while Sumit will be his deputy in the nine-member Indian men’s hockey team, which will participate in the inaugural edition of the FIH Hockey 5s on June 5-6 in Lausanne, Switzerland.

India will play Malaysia, Pakistan, Poland and host Switzerland in the tournament.

The team is a mix of Olympic bronze medalists as well as players from last year’s FIH Junior World Cup.

IPL 2022 – Full coverage | Schedule | Results | Orange Cap | Purple cap | Points table

These include goalkeeper Pawan, defender Sanjay, Mandeep Mor and Gurinder Singh. Along with forwards Dilpreet Singh, Mohammad Raheel Mausin and Gursahibjit Singh, midfielders Sumit and Rabichandra Singh have been called up.

Pawan, Sanjay and Ravichandra were also part of the nine-member team that won silver medals at the 2018 Youth Olympic Games where the Hockey 5s format was played. They were also part of the Junior Men’s World Cup in Bhubaneswar last year, while Sumit and Dilpreet Singh were part of the Olympic bronze medal winning team.

Prashant Kumar Chauhan, Bobby Singh Dhami and Sudip Chirmako have been kept on standby for the tournament.

Head coach Graham Reed, who accompanied the team, said: “The FIH Hockey 5s Tournament in Lausanne will provide an opportunity to showcase a different version of our game. We’re excited about the prospect of playing fast-paced hockey in a great place in a beautiful country against world-class opposition.

“We have chosen a team that probably has a lot of players from the youth side who have played in the first format of the Youth Olympics. At the same time, this tournament provides another opportunity for players to experience playing international hockey at their best, “Reed added.

The team is scheduled to leave Bengaluru on June 1.


Pawan, Sanjay, Mandeep Mor, Gurinder Singh (Captain), Sumit (Vice-Captain), Ravichandra Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Mohammad Raheel Mausin, Gursahibjit Singh.


Prashant Kumar Chauhan, Bobby Singh Dhami, Sudip Chirmako.

Read all Breaking news , Breaking news And IPL 2022 Live Updates Here


Source link

Leave a Comment